County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Cecil County’s Van Funk Elected Chair of State Soil Conservation Committee

Post Date:06/24/2020 12:38 PM

June 24, 2020

ELKTON, MD. – Mr. Van Funk, Chief of the Stormwater Management Division of the Cecil County Van FunkDepartment of Public Works (DPW), has been elected Chair of the State of Maryland’s State Soil Conservation Committee by its voting members. As Chair, Mr. Funk will preside at committee meetings and lead its members in advising the Maryland Department of Agriculture on policy matters and promoting soil conservation and water quality to farmers, landowners, and others in Maryland.

The State Soil Conservation Committee is comprised of five regional representatives drawn from local soil conservation districts throughout Maryland, as well as representatives from the state departments of Agriculture, Natural Resources, and the Environment; the University of Maryland Extension; the Maryland Association of Soil Conservation Districts; and the Maryland Agricultural Commission.

Mr. Funk has been employed by the Cecil County Department of Public Works since 2006, and has been Chief of DPW’s Stormwater Management Division since 2016. He has served as a member of the Board of the Cecil Soil Conservation District since 2006, and has served as the Central Region representative (representing Baltimore, Harford, Montgomery, Howard, and Cecil Soil Conservation Districts) to the State Soil Conservation Committee since 2019. He took over as Committee Chair on June 18, 2020.

“Van is deeply committed to protecting Cecil County’s natural resources which are so critical to its economy and quality of life,” said Scott Flanigan, County Director of Public Works. “I know he will represent Cecil County well as Chair of the State Soil Conservation Committee.”

Additional information regarding the State Soil Conservation Committee is available on its website Information about the Cecil Soil Conservation District is available at


Media Contact:
Jennifer Lyall
Public Information Officer
Cecil County Government

Return to full list >>