Joyce Bowlsbey

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council President Joyce BowlsbeyPresident Joyce Bowlsbey

Councilwoman Second District - R
County Administration Building
200 Chesapeake Blvd., Suite 2110
Elkton, Maryland 21921
Office: 410-996-5201
Fax: 800-865-0587

District 2 Map

Joyce Bowlsbey was appointed as a Council Member from the Second District in 2013 after Council Member Tari Moore was elected as County Executive. She was elected to a four year term in 2014.  Councilwoman Bowlsbey was appointed as Council President in 2016.

Bowlsbey retired from W.L. Gore & Associates in 2003 after serving twenty years as a Corporate Customer Service Champion and sales representative in the Fabrics Division. She traveled internationally for the company providing customer service education to sales representatives and was instrumental in hiring staff for the Hong Kong office that opened in 1985.

Council President Bowlsbey was appointed to the following:

  • Planning Commission - Ex officio member
  • Cecil County Early Childhood Advisory County - Ex officio member
  • Commission on Aging - Ex officio member
  • Human Services Agency (under DSS) - Voting member
  • Upper Shore Regional Council - Voting member
  • Department of Social Services Board - Voting member

President Bowlsbey serves or has served on the following:

  • Metro Chimes of Delaware Board of Directors
  • Union Hospital Quality Assurance Board, Junior Board, Foundation Building Fund Committee and Breast
  • Cancer Center Corporate Fundraising Committee
  • Amer-Indo Organization, Inc. Board of Directors, Former member
  • Cecil County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Former member, Past President, Government
  • Relations Committee, Past President
  • Cecil County Charter Board and Friends of Charter, Former member
  • Cecil Leadership Institute Past Co-coordinator, Former member
  • Economic Development Commission, Public Relations Committee, Former member
  • Water-Wastewater Task Force, Former member
  • Airport Committee, Chair and Former member
  • Strategic Fiscal Planning Task Force, Chair and Former member
  • State of Maryland Economic Development Commission, Former member
  • Cecil County Planning Commission, Former member
  • Family Services Association, Board of Directors, Former member
  • Cecil County Arts Council, Board of Directors and Community Arts Development Grant Committee, Former member

Council President Bowlsbey received the Cecil County Chamber of Commerce President's Award in 2004 and the Donald Thomey Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005, Cecil Whig Trailblazer Award in 2006 and two nominations for the Athena Award.